Hi everyone!  Just a quick post to share that I have another guest blog post up on Victor’s Village, titled, Is It REALLY In The Books? Fanon vs. Canon

Also, I’d like to “revise and extend” my remarks about the Fanon that “When Peeta has a flashback, he experiences everything he did during his initial episode of tracker jacker venom induced psychosis…including his homicidal thoughts and behavior toward Katniss.” My main point of contention with this in my VV post, is that I just don’t see it as consistent with Peeta’s character that he’d let himself be around Katniss if he was having flashbacks that led to him attacking her every week or so, as many post-MJ fanfics have it.

I’ll add here, that I think this interpretation also takes away from the painful journey SC shows him undergoing in MJ.  Especially the version that has him falling back into the delusion that Katniss is a mutt.  That totally takes away from the important of the moment of epiphany that he has after watching himself attack Katniss on TV, that “I’m the mutt, I’m the monster”.  Note that while SC shows him struggling with “shiny memories” after this, he never again loses control and attacks Katniss.  This is way before he gets plugged back into any kind of professional psychiatric support.  Why would he be doing worse AFTER he actually gets professional help?  Basically, this version of post-MJ Peeta means that Mitchell died for nothing.  And I don’t think that was SC’s intent.

